Angkor Awakens: A Portrait of Cambodia

I tried to organize my work so that I could finish grades for the semester.  I made a bit of progress but got tired.  I saw “Your Name” again and didn’t get very excited about it.  Only two or three other people were in the theatre with me.  I was more conscious of the acting this time.  After going grocery shopping and buying some cheese and crackers, I went out to another movie, a documentary called “Angkor Awakens: A Portrait of Cambodia.”  I have never been there to Cambodia, so I wouldn’t know firsthand what it’s like, but I was skeptical about taking the word of some of the people being interviewed.  I thought of the movie “The Killing Fields,” which I saw during the 1980s.  When one person talked about cops killing people while Obama was president, I had to feel disgusted with the nonsensical comparison.  I am so pessimistic about social change when everyone is so stupid.  I don’t believe in any fantastic changes in any country, whether it’s Cambodia, China, the United States, or any other place in the world.  There might be periods when the economy goes well, but I view everything as a downward spiral.  Stephen Hawking tells us we have to do something within one hundred years.  I don’t know where he came up with that time limit.  I would be inclined to think we have more time than that.  I didn’t want to think about Donald Trump and what more he will do as president.  I was glad to see this film because we don’t see enough films about Asian people.  One of the terrifying things they said was the people with eyeglasses were chosen for death.  They ended up with a handful of doctors, and no veterinarians around to look at farm animals.  The thought of people being driven out of their homes with just the clothes they were wearing was very scary.  It was awful to think about Cambodia being run by incompetents, although it made me wonder our government has competent people in it.  Again, I wanted to avoid thinking about Donald Trump.  I did think about “Hearts and Minds” at times while watching this film.  It would be a good thing if this film reaches a lot of people, because it will tell you things you’re not going to get from television news.  The piano music by Satie reminded me of Woody Allen’s “Another Woman.”  When I got back home, I saw at my door an Amazon package which had my deluxe edition of The Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper album inside.  It sure had a lot of discs, which would take me a long time to get through.  I couldn’t take it all in right away without getting sick of it.  The box cover had the 3D look of the Rolling Stones “Their Satanic Majesties Request” album.  I had seen on the news a report on all the cardboard waste that Amazon orders create.  I heard on the radio the A’s postgame show.  The A’s had just won against the Yankees, 4-1.  Winning a game in the last inning against a good team on the road is progress, although Santiago Casilla again made the bottom of the ninth inning uncomfortable.  I watched the Partridge Family episode “Art for Mom’s Sake.”  The departure of Ricky must have made this episode seem pretty good at the time.  Laurie had her hair styled in ways that looked odd.  I listened to a record of the Swan Silvertones.  One of the movies on television was “Bite the Bullet.”  Some of the people who died on May 27 include Niccolo Paganini (1840), Jeffrey Hunter (1969), Jeff Conaway (2011), and Gil Scott-Heron (2011).  Today is a birthday for Andre 3000 (42), Todd Bridges (52), and Adam Carolla (53).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 27, Frank Sinatra made his television debut with Bob Hope in 1950.  In 1957, Buddy Holly’s “That’ll Be the Day” single was released on Brunswick Records.  In 1977, the Sex Pistols’ single “God Save the Queen” was released.  Also in 1977, singer-songwriter Declan MacManus performed at the Nashville Rooms in London for the first time as Elvis Costello.  In 1994, the live-action adaptation of The Flintstones, starring John Goodman, Rick Moranis, Elizabeth Perkins, Rosie O’Donnell, Kyle MacLachlan, Halle Berry, and Elizabeth Taylor, was released.  In 1995, Christopher Reeve suffered the accident at an equestrian competition in Virginia that resulted in a spinal cord injury and paralysis.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

