North by Northwest

I went out to the office to grade more papers and determine most of the grades for the semester.  I went grocery shopping, and I watched the first half of the Warriors-Cavaliers game.  During halftime, I went to the record store and bought a DVD box set of I Love Lucy.  I watched the rest of the game.  There was so suspense, except for seeing if the Warriors could match a record of four turnovers in the game.  I watched the Blu-ray edition of Hitchcock’s “North by Northwest.”  I will always wonder why Roger had to touch the knife that was in that guy’s back.  He also made a real mistake in answering the phone in the hotel room.  I wonder what happened to Roger’s mother.  She’s in the early scenes and disappears.  I thought she was Grace Kelly’s mother in “To Catch a Thief.”  I was not too sure that taking the police to the house was a good idea.  If those were bad guys in the house, they would have packed up in a moment’s notice.  An obvious place where the dialogue was changed was Eve saying that she didn’t discuss love on an empty stomach.  I wondered if was ever possible to restore it to what it was originally.  The change was like putting a mustache on a masterpiece.  It seemed that Roger was slow to recognize what the crop dusting plane was doing, and the shot reminded me of Gamora seeing Nebula’s attack of her in the new Guardians of the Galaxy movie.  One of the visual effects was the interior of the United Nations building.  I don’t know how Roger and Eve did not fall to their deaths on Mount Rushmore.  Martin Landau played one of those effeminate villains.  I thought I saw this in “Diamonds Are Forever.” Saul Bass designed a great opening credit sequence, and Bernard Herrmann came up with one of his best scores.  I don’t get tired of seeing the best Hitchcock movies, like “Rear Window” and “Vertigo” and “Psycho.”  The last shot is of the train going into a tunnel, which is not the most original idea, but it was very funny, anyway.  Supposedly, James Stewart was eager to be in “North by Northwest.”  Because of “Notorious” and “Suspicion,” I think this one is more in the Cary Grant vein.  There was jealousy, and also darker emotions at work.  This movie feels like the end of an era, with “Psycho,” “The Birds,” and “Marnie” ahead.  The characters were showing more psychological problems as the years passed.  This Blu-ray edition looked sharper than the DVDs of the movie that I saw in the past, although the high definition showed some of the age of the special effects.  I noticed that in some of the shots of New York City, it looked like the city was racially diverse, although the cast was not.  This disc had special features that I didn’t have the time to watch.  Some of the people who died on June 2 include Lou Gehrig (1941), George S. Kaufman (1961), Stephen Boyd (1977), Jim Hutton (1979), Andres Segovia (1987), Jack Gilford (1990), Rex Harrison (1990), Imogene (2001), Bo Diddley (2008), and Richard Dawson (2010).  Today is a birthday for Dana Carvey (62), Jerry Mathers (69), Stacy Keach (76), and Charlie Watts (76).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind segment for June 2, the Lloyd Bridges movie “Rocketship X-M” was released in 1950.  In 1962, the Ray Charles single “I Can’t Stop Loving You” was Number One on the charts.  In 1978, “Capricorn One,” starring Elliott Gould, James Brolin, Brenda Vacarro, Sam Waterston, O.J. Simpson, Hal Holbrook, Karen Black, and Telly Savalas, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

