Wonder Woman

I awoke and headed for the bus stop.  The F bus took me to the theatre that was showing “Wonder Woman” at 9:15 in the morning.  The bonus that I got for being an early ticket buyer was a Wonder Woman pin.  The movie was slightly too long at 141 minutes, as it took a while for Diana to reach the outside world.  It seems that Gal Gadot is becoming a superstar with this movie.  The movie becomes something like “Decision Before Dawn” or “Saving Private Ryan” when World War I comes into the story.  Wonder Woman actually kills people, like a German general.  In the Spider-Man movies, Spider-Man doesn’t pull the trigger, so to speak.  Diana’s relationship with Steve made me wonder what her skin was like.  Was it something tougher than human skin?  I’m not sure that I would want to touch her or allow her to touch me.  With her strength, she could do some damage.  As with “Brave,” some of the feminist messages were a bit annoying.  Is the greatest German chemist of the day really a woman?  There is a scene towards the end where Steve is struggling to articulate his thoughts to Diana.  It goes on and on, and it needed editing.  I know that in reality people don’t speak fluidly, but I don’t want to hear Chris Pine spewing out half-thoughts.  The final showdown with Ares is almost laughable, and I did have the urge to laugh.  It seemed that Wonder Woman just turned up the power like cranking the volume up to 11 in “This is Spinal Tap.”  Actually, I felt that the only crucial characters in the story were Wonder Woman, General Ludendorff, and Doctor Maru.  They could have spared many lives by just sending Wonder Woman out to the front and having her kill all the German soldiers.  One woman sitting behind applauded Wonder Woman’s big fight scenes.  The reaction reminded me of Rey in “The Force Awakens.”  I think I recognized only four names in the cast: Gal Gadot, Chris Pine, Connie Nielsen, and Robin Wright.  Gal Gadot was born in 1985 and thus did not see Lynda Carter in the original run of the Wonder Woman television show.  I rather miss the Wonder Woman with the smile.  This Wonder Woman doesn’t seem to have a sense of humor.  We see her having her first ice cream, which made me wonder why resources weren’t so scarce during wartime that we could see an ice cream cart out on the street.  I’m not too crazy about the flashback structure with the movie opening in present day Paris.  It kills some of the illusion.  Wonder Woman understands hundreds of languages, making her seem like Mr. Spock of Star Trek.  I wonder if Vulcan is one of the languages she understands.  If she’s read so many books, then why don’t we ever see her reading?  I want to know if she knows how to do algebra problems.  If she was in a spelling bee, would she know how to spell “marocain”?  I’m thinking of this summer movie as something like “Conan the Barbarian” of years ago, but putting a woman in Schwarzenegger’s place to give the picture more appeal.  This woman, though, seems like the DC version of Thor as far as powers go.  I can’t say I’m looking forward to seeing her in the Justice League of America.  Some of the people who died on June 3 include Georges Bizet (1875), Johann Strauss (1899), Franz Kafka (1924), Anthony Quinn (2001), Leon Askin (2005), David Carradine (2009), Rue McClanahan (2010), James Arness (2011), Deacon Jones (2013), and Muhammad Ali (2016).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

