Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie

I watched CBS Sunday Morning and their segments about the 40th anniversary of the “Annie” musical, and also Adam West.  My parents phoned me to talk about money accounts.  I went out to buy groceries, and I watched the episode of The Quest called “The Captive,” which I’d never seen before a few months ago, but now I’ve seen several times.  I took the buses out to Jack London Square to catch a movie.  I listened to the A’s game at Tampa Bay and was frustrated at what happened in the last two innings.  Daniel Coulombe made an error leading to an unearned run, throwing to an empty base.  Matt Joyce swung at the first pitch, making a quick out.  Adam Rosales did not score from second base on a hit.  The A’s lost, 5-4.  Heading to the theatre from the farmers’ market, a train blocked my way for a while.  I went to see “Captain Underpants,” a silly movie aimed at the very young.  From the viewpoint of the movie, elementary school is like a prison camp, where you’re expected to memorize meaningless facts, and the only relief from this oppression is pulling cranks and thinking about comics.  The joke about Uranus was predictable, but the humor in this movie is meant for those who think that such things are endlessly funny.  When you have a hero called Captain Underpants, the movie can’t be a typical origin story like a Superman, even if there are references to Superman.  What we see are the friends who come up with Captain Underpants, two friends named George and Harold, with the voices of Kevin Hart and Thomas Middleditch, respectively.  This movie something like a childhood version of “American Splendor.”  I thought that Harold frequently sounded like Owen Wilson.  We also hear the voices of Ed Helms, Nick Kroll, Jordan Peele, and Kristen Schaal.  I got rather tired of the movie going on and on about friendship, although it’s one of the things that ten-year-olds can relate to.  There were a lot of images of goo, and no one had a neck.  The elementary school, even anyone noticed, was named after one of The Three Stooges.  The books are not part of my childhood memories.  I read Dr. Seuss, cowboy stories, and Homer Price.  When you have a sequence called Flip-o-Rama, there is a sense of fun that has links to people like John Waters, but I think I’ve become too old for most of this stuff.  I think that the audience for this movie will someday graduate to things like Borat.  If you think that Weird Al Yankovic would fit into the concept of this movie, you would be right, and he does sing the Captain Underpants Theme.  The children in the theatre on this afternoon didn’t seem to think that the movie was hilarious.  I would say that I liked this movie more than the last SpongeBob SquarePants movie, but I’m not rushing out to see the second epic Captain Underpants movie.  The reviewer for RogerEbert.com did give it a good review.  I left the movie and took the buses back home.  I looked through the record store and bought two Ringo Starr records.  I listened to the Robert Hilburn Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN.  The songs were by Dave Alvin and Peter Case.  I liked “Border Radio” and “Great Big World.”  Looking through previous playlists, I saw that the program was repeated from March 13, 2016.  I watched the 60 Minutes segment about cell phone addiction.  I would agree that it is insidious how our lives are being turned into meaningless crap through these distractions.  I watched the Columbo episode on Me TV, which was “Columbo Likes the Nightlife.”  It was the last Columbo episode, aired on January 30, 2003, when Peter Falk was 75 years old.  It was better than some of those other late episodes.  I didn’t want to stay up for Kolchak: The Night Stalker.  Some of the people who died on June 12 include Norma Shearer (1983), Gregory Peck (2003), and Don Herbert (2007).  Today is a birthday for Timothy Busfield (60), Chick Corea (76), Jim Nabors (87), and George H.W. Bush (93).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 12, “You Only Live Twice” had its London premiere at the Odeon Cinema in 1967.  In 1968, Roman Polanski’s “Rosemary’s Baby” was released.  In 1971, Honey Cone had the Number One single, “Want Ads.”  In 1987, “Predator” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

