Golden State Warriors 129, Cleveland Cavaliers 120

I got off work at two and stopped to buy a beef burrito before heading to the BART station and going over to the Oracle Arena.  I got to the building at about 3:45, and there were quite a few fans already lined up outside.  As we entered the doors, we were given rally towels.  I stopped to browse through the team store.  They had some Finals merchandise on sale, but the fans were waiting for championship shirts and hats.  I took my seat, which had a shirt that said “All Gold Everything” on it.  They were all XL sized.  Franco Finn and Ruby Lopez appeared, with Ruby looking as if she were about to have her baby.  We would see Snoop Dogg and Chris Rock on the scoreboard screen.  The last I heard about Chris Rock, he was getting a divorce.  Cast members from “Hamilton” performed the national anthem.  The Cavaliers came out and played a good fourth quarter, making the fans a bit nervous.  One fan behind me said, “If we don’t win this game, we’re going to lose in seven.”  How can some people be so pessimistic?  The fans quickly came to hate the referees and the way they were calling fouls.  They appeared to make a mistake on a tripping foul.  The referee with number 43 was the particular object of scorn.  The first quarter ended with the Cavaliers ahead, 37-33, and it seemed the Warriors were fortunate at this point to be behind by only four points.  The fan sitting next to me to my left was a real character with metal teeth like Jaws in the James Bond movies.  He kept a running commentary on the game, telling me that momentum is everything.  He pointed out to me that Andre Iguodala’s slam dunk was the momentum changer.  The Warriors were behind by eight points, but had a 27-4 stretch to excite the crowd and give them the feeling that this was a win.  Iguodala did play an exceptional game on this night.  I didn’t hear any statistics of how the Warriors played when Zaza Pachulia was off the floor.  It seemed to me that he was slow of foot, slow to react, but quick to pick up fouls.  The first half ended with the Warriors ahead, 71-60.  The halftime show was a dance group called Jabbawockeez, who appeared to be combining mime with hip hop.  They wore white masks.  I didn’t take too much notice of the promotions that were going on, but one fan went out on the floor to attempt a halfcourt shot to win a car, and there was a cap giveaway to one of the sections.  There were a couple of T-shirt tosses, but no parachute drop.  The Warriors Dance Team were out there for a couple of routines, but they didn’t seem as conspicuous as usual.  The Cavaliers were set on making the score close.  Kevin Durant seemed to score whenever the Warriors really needed it, so his actions felt dramatic.  Sometimes, Stephen Curry would miss a three-point shot or throw a bad pass or have the ball stolen from him, which would be annoying, but when you looked at the statistics, he had almost as many points as Durant.  The fan next to me said that all he cared about was the Warriors having the lead, even if it was only one point.  The third quarter ended with the score at 98-93.  Early in the fourth quarter, the Cavaliers got to within 98-95, but the Warriors had a 19-10 stretch.  LeBron James was still determined and kept scoring points, but the Warriors stayed ahead.  Klay Thompson and Curry scored points in the late going.  The fan next to me nudged me with his elbow and said he couldn’t believe he was witnessing a championship.  With about eight minutes to go, a big banner saying “Strength in Numbers” was unfurled above the heads of the fans sitting at court level.  With three minutes and then two minutes left on the clock, the outcome was becoming evident.  The final score was 129-120.  The news media told us that this was the first time that a Bay Area pro sports team had won a championship at home since the A’s had won against the Los Angeles Dodgers in Game 5 of the 1974 World Series.  The confetti fell, and a crew started to set up a stage on the court.  The fan next to me congratulated me and other nearby fans as if we had done anything besides shell out the money for tickets.  This guy told me that I was a good fan, and he had asked me to share his beer with him.  I envy carefree characters like him.  Durant had scored 39 points, and Curry had scored 34.  LeBron James had 40 points.  Iguodala had 20.  We heard the chorus of Queen’s “We Are the Champions” about a thousand times, and the fans didn’t seem to get tired of singing along.  We heard Steve Kerr’s joke about his coaching, but the crowd was so loud that we couldn’t hear what Kevin Durant and Stephen Curry were saying during their interviews.  I was betting that Curry was being asked a dumb question.  The fans booed the commissioner loudly.  I saw the trophy from afar, as well as Durant’s mother.  What would have happened in this series if the Warriors didn’t have Durant?  They probably lose Game 3, and they could have lost this one, too.  The ceremony winded down, and I was reluctant to leave, because I knew I wouldn’t see too many more moments like this.  I didn’t stick around to see the fireworks.  A couple of people outside were handing out sample of a snack food called Takis Fuego, which didn’t taste too good.  As I reached the BART station platform, plenty of people in their cars were honking their horns.  I was anxious to get home, as I had to use the toilet and was tired.  I ate some oranges and watched the news.  I didn’t see myself in any of the footage.  Some of the people who died on June 13 include Benny Goodman (1986), Geraldine Page (1987), Fran Allison (1989), Tim Russert (2008), and Jimmy Dean (2010).  Today is a birthday for Kat Dennings (31), Ally Sheedy (55), Hannah Storm (55), Tim Allen (64), Richard Thomas (66), and Malcolm McDowell (74).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 13, “Fiddler on the Roof” won a Tony Award for Best Musical in 1965.  In 1970, the Beatles’ “Let It Be” album was Number One on the album chart.  Also in 1970, “The Long and Winding Road” was Number One on the singles chart.  In 1989, a jury in Los Angeles acquitted Michael Jackson on ten counts of child molestation.

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

