Transformers: The Last Knight

The first Sunday of the summer had me feeling tired.  I woke up and watched CBS Sunday Morning, which had segments on the tenth anniversary of the iPhone, Dick Gregory, John McEnroe, and Cyndi Lauper.  After I went grocery shopping, I took the buses out to Jack London Square to go to the theatre where “Transformers: The Last Knight.”  I thought the story started off on the wrong foot with the whole Middle Ages introduction with Merlin.  After that strangeness, we see Marlky Mark and a spunky little girl, who also had to be a most foolish little girl for being in such dangerous situations.  She had more technical knowledge than anyone in the world.  What, was she self-taught?  We get Anthony Hopkins and three people from “The Big Lebowski.”  Not only is Merlin thrown into the plot, but there are things that we didn’t know about World War II and the death of Hitler tossed in there.  I didn’t know what was going on, but throughout all of this, I knew that Merlin’s staff was important.  The attempts at humor generally weren’t funny, but the woman behind me laughed loudly at everything.  I’ve seen a lot of these loud movies this summer already.  It’s discouraging to see the audiences going along with all this nonsense.  The action scenes lacked excitement, but one thing that was a little surprising was how the ending dragged on and on.  Hardly any movies that are two and a half hours long merit that kind of length, and this one isn’t an exception.  This movie was empty, had no emotion, and wasn’t put together thoughtfully.  The reviewer for RogerEbert.com gave it one star.  I wouldn’t rate it that low.  That is the territory of the Hot Tub Time Machine and Zoolander sequels.  I’m amazed that so much money could be spent to get much modest results.  Everything seems to happen so quickly that there is no sense of wonder what what’s happening.  You’d think that the end of the world is happening every day, or at least every day of the summer.  This movie was a step down from the last Transformers movie, certainly, and the future of the series doesn’t look promising if the stars don’t return.  I thought this was something like the Fast and Furious series, except for robots and science fiction elements.  When I checked the rating of this movie, it was PG-13.  It seemed rather foul-mouthed for the little kids to watch, but then I have no idea what little kids these days are like.  149 minutes was a long time to spend watching this movie, and it made me feel exhausted.  After it ended, I heard one fan talking about what he saw on YouTube about the Transformers.  I did not find it inspiring.  Summer movies sure have changed since the days of Jaws, Star Wars, and Indiana Jones.  I thought the movies were more fun back then, along with a lot of other things.  I would have thought that we would like to go to the movies to escape the depressing news about terrorism and shootings, but then this type of entertainment continues with the violence.  The trailer for the Planet of the Apes movie did not make me want to rush out and see it, with its suggestions of a race and class war.  I want a break from these statements.  I listened to the end of the A’s game in Chicago on the radio on my way home.  Santiago Casilla seemed intent on blowing it in the ninth inning by giving up a home run, but it turned out to be a 5-3 win, although the team is now headed for Houston.  Other news was that Stephen Vogt is now with the Milwaukee Brewers, joining Eric Sogard, who has been doing well this season so far with the Brewers.  I went over to the record store and bought used vinyl copies of albums by Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr.  The cashier told me that it was good to see me in the store.  I listened to Robert Hilburn’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Times program on KCSN.  He played songs by Peter Tosh, Jimmy Cliff, The Slickers, and Bob Marley and the Wailers.  It’s already been 36 years since the death of Bob Marley.  It was good to hear “Redemption Song,” “No Woman, No Cry,” and “One Love” on the radio again.  I watched part of a Columbo episode with Jackie Cooper, but I fell sleep before the ending.  I was too sleepy to watch Kolchak: The Night Stalker.  I saw a commercial for one of those 1970s rock and roll cruises.  I might be interested into going on one of those cruises, although I’m not sure that I would want to go to Jamaica.  I’m still not a fan of Styx.  I don’t think I liked anything that came after “Lady,” which is a lot.  I’m not sure that I can even name one member of Styx after all these years.  I had the feeling that this would be a tough week of work, and so I wasn’t eager to get out of bed and face it all.  Some of the people who died on June 26 include James Weldon Johnson (1938), Roy Campanella (1993), and Nora Ephron (2012).  Today is a birthday for Ariana Grande (24), Nicole Arbour (32), Gretchen Wilson (44), Chris Isaak (61), and Mick Jones (62).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for June 26, “Darby O’ Gill and the Little People,” starring Sean Connery, was released in 1959.  In 1964, the Beatles’ album “A Hard Day’s Night” was released in the United States.  In 1987, “Dragnet,” with Dan Aykroyd and Tom Hanks, was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

