Moka

I hung out at the library for a while.  I didn’t get around to making an appointment with the optometry clinic, which was supposed to be one of my main tasks.  I went to the theatre that was showing “Moka” at one o’clock.  I was a little distressed to discover that they raised their ticket price by one dollar.  The movie that a plot that was familiar.  It had a woman who was set on revenge for the hit and run auto accident that killed her son.  The growing suspense over what this woman was going to do was something like Claude Chabrol, which also means there was a touch of Hitchcock in there.  This movie did remind me of how I can’t stand today’s culture of cell phone use.  The single-minded pursuit made me think of George C. Scott in “Hardcore.”  When Diane takes a hike with the suspect to a secluded spot, it brought back a memory of “Strangers on a Train” for me.  I thought the ending was a movie ending.  I think that filmmakers shouldn’t be afraid of imperfect endings that don’t satisfy everyone.  The two old men sitting behind me commented that the movie was intense and had a good script.  “Moka” is worth a look if you’re tired of the big, commercial summer movies, but it’s not as exciting as “Baby Driver.”  I had a hamburger and made my way out to Home Depot to buy those wood boards that would make my closet better.  After I returned home and watched a little television before going to the record store, where I bought a John Prine CD and a Midnight Special DVD.  I watched the Kung Fu episode “King of the Mountain,” which featured Brandon Cruz, John Saxon, and Lara Parker.  Caine had yearnings for love in this episode, and my thought was that he acted on those urges, only they couldn’t show it on network television in 1972.  I also watched the Avengers episode “The Cybernauts.”  I listened to the first inning of the A’s game in Seattle on the radio, and the A’s had a good first inning with three runs.  Later I would hear that Bob Melvin had won his 500th game as the A’s manager.  Some of the people who died on July 7 include Arthur Conan Doyle (1930), Veronica Lake (1973), Dore Schary (1980), Bill Cullen (1990), and Fred Neil (2001).  Today is a birthday for Jim Gaffigan (51) and Ringo Starr (77).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 7, “The Brides of Dracula,” starring Peter Cushing, was released in 1960.  In 1973, Billy Preston’s “Will It Go Round in Circles” was the Number One single.  In 1977, “The Spy Who Loved Me” had its premiere in London.  In 1984, Prince had the Number One single, “When Doves Cry.”  In 1989, “Lethal Weapon 2,” starring Mel Gibson, Danny Glover, and Joe Pesci, was released.  In 1990, game show host Bill Cullen died of cancer at age 70.  In 2006, Syd Barrett of Pink Floyd died of pancreatic cancer at age 60.  In 2011, “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2” had its premiere in London.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

