The Last Dalai Lama?

I watched the morning news and the coverage of the construction site fire in Oakland, and then I went off to work.  Someone asked me if I remembered the Fifth Dimension.  I didn’t get around to saying that I used to listen to an oldies radio station that played all the Number One hit songs from 1956 to 1970 all the time.  After my shift ended, I was hungry and tired, but the nearby neighborhood theatre was showing “The Last Dalai Lama?”  Mickey Lemle was supposed to show up after the 6:30 showing tomorrow, but I wasn’t sure that I wanted to show up for that.  The Dalai Lama did have a sense of humor, although I thought the audience was a little too eager to laugh at the things he said.  He admitted that he had a bit of a temper, although he did say that negative emotions like anger and hatred were counterproductive.  He said that acting with love and compassion was of benefit to yourself but not necessarily to others.  The movie uses footage from the 1992 film “Compassion in Exile: The Story of the 14th Dalai Lama.”  The Dalai Lama did look more energetic in the older footage, but his English was the same, hardly difficult to understand.  We see Nancy Pelosi giving him an award.  George W. Bush praises him.  The reason this might be the last Dalai Lama is political, involving the Chinese government.  My guess is that there will be another.  The review in the San Francisco Chronicle shows the Little Man sitting upright in his chair, applauding.  Like Alvy Singer when he sees the yogi in “Annie Hall,” I felt like making jokes about the Dalai Lama: “It must be a tremendous hem.”  The movie didn’t change my skepticism about this person and Buddhism.  John Lennon sang “I don’t believe in Buddha.”  The movie ran only 82 minutes, but it felt like the Dalai Lama talked for too long.  Philip Glass composed the score for the film.  After it was over, I thought about the question of whether movies with people mostly talking, like “My Dinner with Andre,” could really be considered great films.  I don’t think I could recommend that people pay ten dollars to see “The Last Dalai Lama?”  People who want to see this movie should wait until it comes out on video.  I walked down the street to get to the hardware store.  The saw that I wanted was displayed high up on a wall and beyond my reach.  I was glad to get it, even though I don’t have the greatest use for it.  I looked through the record store and bought a DVD of the first season of Banacek, although the pilot episode was missing.  I bought a burrito and sat in the plaza to eat it.  I shopped for groceries.  I listened to the A’s game in Seattle until Sean Manaea gave up a run.  I watched the Partridge Family episode “Keith and Lauriebelle,” which was arguably the last good episode.  I didn’t see Laurie eat any potato chips, even though Reuben said that the more she eats, the less she will talk.  I also watched the Avengers episode “Death at Bargain Prices.”  Steed had a black eye that healed very quickly.  I started to watch “Boyhood” on Blu-ray but started to feel tired.  Some of the people who died on July 8 include Vivien Leigh (1967), James Franciscus (1991), Dick Sargent (1994), Pete Conrad (1999), Betty Ford (2011), Ernest Borgnine (2012), and Ken Stabler (2015).  Today is a birthday for Beck (47), Kevin Bacon (59), Anjelica Huston (66), and Wolfgang Puck (68).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 8, “The Everly Brothers Show” made its debut on ABC in 1970.  In 1978, Gerry Rafferty’s “City to City” reached Number One on the Billboard album chart.  In 1994, Dick Sargent died of prostate cancer at age 64.  In 2012, Ernest Borgnine died of kidney failure at age 95 at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

