The Big Sick

I watched the chef segment of the CBS This Morning show.  Some of Matthew McClure’s signature recipes include Roasted chicken with garam masala spices, Charred carrots with whipped feta and cilantro, Creamed corn with chili butter, Heirloom tomato and peach salad, Pimento cheese, and Blueberry dessert.  I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on July 8, 1972 were “(If Loving You is Wrong) I Don’t Want to Be Right,” “I Need You,” “Daddy Don’t You Walk So Fast,” “Rocket Man,” “Troglodyte (Cave Man),” “The Candy Man,” “Too Late to Turn Back Now,” “Song Sung Blue,” “Outa-Space,” and “Lean on Me.”  While I was at the library, I decided to go to the theatre across the street to see “The Big Sick.”  It was a romantic comedy with a stand-up comedian and part-time Uber driver named Kumail and a graduate student and aspiring therapist named Emily.  The culture clash was something like Bridge Loves Bernie, only 45 years later.  Some of the attempts at stand-up comedy are painful, like Sally Field trying to be funny on a atage.  It made me think that almost no one in stand-up comedy is innovative.  They’re all just finding ways to talk about themselves.  I did feel that by the end of the movie I had seen entirely too much of this guy.  Well, his love interest is in the hospital with a coma for a large part of the movie.  The woman who played Emily reminded me a bit of Amy Wright from John Huston’s “Wise Blood.”  Holly Hunter is Emily’s mother Beth, and Ray Romano is her father Terry.  I would say that Romano is not the most convincing actor in spite of his experience in television.  Kumail does a one-man show.  Emma Stone did a one-woman show in “La La Land.”  Does everyone do these shows?  What kind of person needs all this attention?  I couldn’t see what was supposed to be so wonderful about Emily and this whole relationship.  She, in the audience, interrupts one of his routines, and so he is attracted to her, and it’s the start of something fantastic?  I don’t see it.  I thought the bits about Kumail’s mother trying to arrange a marriage for him were repetitive, although Kumail’s father did have a funny scene seeing him off before his move to New York.  I felt almost nauseous at the end as photos of the real Emily were shown on the screen.  This was a love story that Kumail and Emily just had to impose on the rest of us because the story happened to them.  The rest of the audience was more enthusiastic about the movie.  They laughed at nearly everything.  I thought the movie was better than your Drew Barrymore romantic comedy, but I couldn’t see why what made Kumail worth my attention.  Aren’t we already supposed to accept interracial relationships?  I thought about how those romantic comedies already seemed to end with a group of strangers applauding the couple’s declaration of love.  This movie had a slight departure from that formula, as the applause comes from an actual audience.  Kumail keeps saying that he doesn’t know what he is.  Yes, that’s the question you don’t ever really answer, so you’re also not answering the question of why I should pay $9.50 to watch you in this movie.  Christy Lemire gave this movie a very good review.  It is pretty good if you accept Kumail without getting too annoyed with him.  I look at stand-up comedians as people who are all doing the same thing.  No one has tried anything different since Andy Kaufman.  The showing at 1:20 ended at 3:52, and I headed home.  I looked through the shops for a CD copy of Elton John’s “Honky Chateau,” a Blu-ray copy of Downton Abbey Season 4, some white-out, and a DVD case, but I bought none of those things, as I sat at home and watched The Quest and some TV shows on DVD, like Bridget Love Bernie.  The baseball game on FOX was the Dodgers and the Royals in Los Angeles, and it didn’t end until just before eight o’clock.  Sandy Koufax was in the stands.  There were a lot of empty seats in the third deck by the ninth inning.  The game ended with a walk-off walk.  I heard that the A’s won their game in Seattle.  Some of the people who died on July 9 include Zachary Taylor (1850), Allen Ludden (1981), Eric Sevareid (1992), Rod Steiger (2002), and Isabel Sanford (2004).  Today is a birthday for Jack White (42), Courtney Love (53), and Tom Hanks (61).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 9, Bob Dylan recorded “Blowin’ in the Wind” in 1962.  In 1969, The Beatles began recording their song “Maxwell’s Silver Hammer.”  In 1982, the Disney science-fiction film “Tron” was released.  In 1983, The Police’s “Every Breath You Take” was Number One on the singles chart.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

