Spider-Man: Homecoming

I was dismayed when my parents phoned me and my mother seemed to have lost some of her hearing.  After I returned home from grocery shopping, I took the buses over to Jack London Square to the movie theatre.  I bought a ticket for “Spider-Man: Homecoming.”  After the terrible third Tobey Maguire movie and the nauseating Andrew Garfield movies, I had just about lost hope for the Spider-Man movies, but this one was pretty enjoyable to watch, although with a few irritating qualities.  Tom Holland reminded me of Andrew McCarthy.  Supposedly, the cast had to watch a John Hughes movie marathon as preparation for this one.  He had a very annoying friend.  I kept thinking that his high-tech costume did too much for him.  I thought that he was supposed to rely a lot on his Spidey-sense.  If he gets help from a computer, is he a real superhero or just a robot?  He’s like the quarterback who doesn’t call his own plays.  The coincidence with Liz and her father was not the greatest idea, as it was unbelievable.  Michael Keaton was Vulture, which was pretty good casting after he was in “Birdman.”  Some of the editing made it hard to tell what was going on during some of the action scenes.  I didn’t care about Peter Parker’s life in high school.  He didn’t seem all that smart if he blew off a Spanish quiz.  He did seem like a real teenager when he didn’t know that he’d spent only 37 minutes in the warehouse.  He had no sense of time.  It was rather amusing to see some of Spider-Man’s limitations.  Iron Man wasn’t a very good mentor, as he really just left him alone.  Stan Lee did make a cameo appearance, although I felt bad for the old man with the recent death of his wife.  There were two extra bits to watch during the end credits.  The first did give us a preview of what to expect in the next Spider-Man movie, and second was a bit of humor.  We have had too many different Spider-Men over the past fifteen years, but at least Tom Holland is better than Andrew Garfield.  Two of the key songs on the soundtrack were the Rolling Stones’ “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking” and The Ramones’ “Blitzkrieg Bop.”  I had forgotten that Marisa Tomei was one of the characters.  Well, the movie was something less than brilliant, but it was fun to watch, and it almost made me look forward to the sequel.  I headed back home and took a nap.  I looked through the record store.  I watched the A’s and Dodgers on Family Feud from 1988.  Bob Welch, Rick Honeycutt, Dave Stewart, Mike Gallego, and Dennis Eckersley were the players for the A’s.  Welch had a lot of team spirit, so it was sad to think back on his death.  Gallego was pretty good at the game, but I thought that Stewart and Eckersley gave weak answers.  I listened to Rock ‘n’ Roll Times on KCSN.  The songs were by Paul Simon.  I saw Tom Skerritt on Kolchak: The Night Stalker.  The episode was “The Devil’s Platform,” originally aired on November 15, 1974.  I couldn’t get back to sleep too easily.  I watched a bit of an Avengers episode with Honor Blackman and Burt Kwouk.  Some of the people who died on July 10 include Jelly Roll Morton (1941), Arthur Fiedler (1979), Mel Blanc (1989), and Omar Sharif (2015).  Today is a birthday for Sofia Vergara (45) and Fiona Shaw (59).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 10, Jelly Roll Morton died of heart failure at age 50 in 1941.  In 1965, the Rolling Stones had the Number One single, “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction.”  In 1970, “They Call Me Mister Tibbs!” was released.  In 1981, “Escape from New York” was released.  In 1995, Hugh Grant appeared on The Tonight Show after his arrest with a prostitute.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

