War for the Planet of the Apes

I watched CBS This Morning.  The chef segment showed sushi chef Masa Takayama.  I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on July 17, 1976 were “Rock and Roll Music,” “Silly Love Songs,” “Got to Get You Into My Life,” “Shop Around,” “Love is Alive,” “Moonlight Feels Right,” “More, More, More,” “I’ll Be Good to You,” “Kiss and Say Goodbye,” and “Afternoon Delight.”  I realized that if I caught two buses, I could make it to the 10:00 showing of “War for the Planet of the Apes” in Emeryville.  I was fortunate to catch the 57 bus at the MacArthur BART station.  The price of a ticket for a 3D showing of the movie at this time of the morning was $11.09.  I would like someone to explain to me these unusual prices someday.  The movie was like a lot of other movies.  There was a bit of “Apocalypse Now,” a bit of winter survival, and some bits that were like Nazis.  You’ve got a mutating virus, like something out of “The Andromeda Strain.”  I also thought of “The Omega Man.”  Woody Harrelson’s character, known as The Colonel, sets up a concentration camp or prisoner of war camp, and the plight of the apes is something like a Western.  Parts of the story seem to set up the events we see in the Charlton Heston movie, although the timeline isn’t right.  That story took place farther into the future.  Some people in the theatre thought the bit with Bad Ape and the binoculars was funny, but I thought it was stale.  He wore clothes, suggesting the future.  I don’t know why The Colonel thought he was an expert on this virus.  The whole concept takes away the drama of the conflict between the apes and men.  If it comes down to two factions of humans, you know that the final confrontation between Caesar and The Colonel is going to fall flat.  The hero is supposed to be pure and not have blood on his hands.  If The Colonel was so sharp and a real survivor, he should have known better than to touch the doll.  One of the humans who is unable to talk is a young girl who looks like she could be one of the Fanning sisters.  The story behind how she got her name was not one of the greatest ideas in this screenplay.  The war in the title wasn’t quite the war we were thinking we were going to see.  I know that I didn’t expect to see apes in the snow.  The movie went on for too long.  I noticed that The Colonel was still listening to Jimi Hendrix, “Hey Joe” in one scene.  His behavior seems weird rather than powerful, as when he shaved his head in front of his men.  The humans sure were stupid.  If you don’t kill the leader, you have to isolate him so that he doesn’t communicate with anyone.  The attack at the end was massively stupid, not taking into account geography.  It’s as if humans don’t do any planning.  Is Caesar the only one with any intelligence?  The part of the plot with the so-called donkey was one of the most predictable things.  I knew what was going to happen at the critical moment because I’ve seen it in so many movies.  If you took a poll, I suppose a lot of viewers would support the apes, but I didn’t want to see them take over the world.  I didn’t see any of the apes playing the guitar as well as Jimi Hendrix, and I imagine their stage musicals would be horrible.  I tried to imagine them staging “Hair” or “Annie.”  If there is to be a movie in the timeline between this one and Charlton Heston’s first movie, I don’t know how it is going to be interesting, with all the action happening away from this group of apes.  I read a favorable review of this movie, although I think that in reality there were entirely too many sequels and prequels.  I really thought that one was enough.  I for a while forgot about the existence of the Tim Burton movie.  It was nearly one o’clock when I left the theatre.  You have to be prepared to spend three hours with this epic.  I liked it more than the latest Transformers movie, or Despicable Me or Cars, but not as much as “Baby Driver.”  I went over to Barnes and Noble and checked their Criterion Collection shelves.  I bought “Seven Samurai” and “Tampopo” and thought about whether or not I should go home and drop off my stuff before heading to the stadium.  I like the Saturday morning showings of movies, although they make me miss Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me on the radio.  Some of the people who died on July 16 include Harry Chapin (1981), John F. Kennedy (1999), Celia Cruz (2003), Johnny Winter (2014), and Nate Thurmond (2016).  Today is a birthday for Barry Sanders (49), Will Farrell (50), Phoebe Cates (54), and Jimmy Johnson (74).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

