Marie Curie: The Courage of Knowledge

I heard about the death of June Foray, who was 99 years old.  I thought the news was sad because Rocky and Bullwinkle played a big part of my childhood.  I went over to Barnes and Noble to buy two Criterion Collection Blu-ray discs that were on sale.  I listened to the A’s game in Toronto.  It came to a sad end, with Liam Hendriks giving up a walk-off grand slam.  I went over to the theatre for an early afternoon showing of “Marie Curie: The Courage of Knowledge.”  As far as your movies about scientists go, I didn’t like it as much as “The Theory of Everything.”  There wasn’t enough science in it.  We see Marie Curie’s naked body, even though I didn’t really want to see it.  We didn’t see Stephen Hawking in the nude in the other movie, at least not that I remember.  Marie won two Nobel Prizes, but he seems to make huge mistakes in her life.  What we also see is her dealing with sexism in the academic world.  The movie didn’t give an indication of why she was a genius.  Based on what we see, I could have done the same things in the laboratory.  There were too many clichés from stories about love affairs.  After the film ended, one of the old women in the theatre got up and said loudly to the rest of us, “OK, you all can wake up now.”  I guess she believed in sharing her opinion with everybody.  Some people liked the movie, although apparently without too much enthusiasm.  They thought the cinematography was good.  I would describe the movie as something of a letdown.  It reminded me of “A Beautiful Mind” in the way it was supposed to be about technical knowledge but ended up being about other things.  I think most people would get more enjoyable out of just reading about Marie Curie’s life than seeing this film.  I went over to the office and did some things in preparation for the next semester, as I worked on a class syllabus.  I went home to watch a Kung Fu episode and the last Partridge Family episode.  Caine deserved to lose his contest with Lin Wu but for a last second turn of events.  I thought George Chakiris’ hair was too long for an officer in the Navy.  I thought in one scene that Laurie was eating some pudding.  She was having a cup of coffee as far as I could see in the first scene.  Some of the people who died on July 28 include Cyrano de Bergerac (1655), Antonio Vivaldi (1741), Johann Sebastian Bach (1750), and Eileen Brennan (2013).  Today is a birthday for Sally Struthers (70) and Jim Davis (72).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for July 28, Farrah Fawcett married Lee Majors in 1973.  In 1978, National Lampoon’s “Animal House” with John Belushi was released.  In 1989, the Tom Hanks movie ‘Turner & Hooch” was released.  In 2013, Eileen Brennan died of bladder cancer at age 80.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

