Maurice

I went over to the library to work on some writing, and I listened to some music on my computer.  I walked over to the theatre that was showing “Maurice,” a movie that I remembered from 1987 but never saw.  It was one of those movies from James Ivory and Ismail Merchant that was based on a novel by E.M. Merchant.  The principals are Hugh Grant as Clive and James Wilby as Maurice.  They are living in England just before World War I, when homosexuality was against the law.  Clive fears personal ruin and so declares that the two of them have to change, and he gets married, while Maurice eventually enters a relationship with Scudder.  This movie was released a few years after “Making Love” in 1982 and “Lianna” in 1983.  “Maurice” was photographed nicely, and it had a great cast.  Denholm Elliott and Ben Kingsley are in it, and I was not surprised to see Helena Bonham Carter, too.  One thing about Maurice’s relationships is that they’re not supposed to last because they’re based on immediate attraction.  It’s almost astonishing to see Hugh Grant so young in this film.  I’m not too sure that his mannerisms have changed much over thirty years, though.  What was hard to believe about Clive was that he could be so wrong about someone who was supposed to be his friend.  Kingsley is a hypnotist, and he gave Maurice the most meaningful advice of anyone, that he should move to a country like France.  E.M. Forster was 91 years old when he died in 1970.  I imagined that Forster was like Maurice.  When I think about the character of Maurice, I picture him to be impossible to get along with.  Ivory and Merchant certainly made some good films.  I didn’t like this one as much as “A Room with a View” or “Howards End,” but I was glad that I saw it.  It brought back 1987 to me for a couple of hours.  I was reminded of “Prick Up Your Ears” and “The Imitation Game” as I was watching.  I would say that the most enjoyable experience I had in seeing an Ivory and Merchant film was seeing “A Room with a View” for the first time.  I remember the ending.  Does it seem that we see male genitals quite a bit in these movies?  One of the interesting trailers we saw was for “Rumble,” about Native American musicians.  I’m interested in seeing it.  I left the theatre feeling sleepy.  A movie about someone’s struggles and anguish will tire you out.  I listened to the tracks from the 1976 Spiders from Mars album.  Using the Internet does help you out with some things.  I sat around the library for a while but wanted to get back home to look at my new phone and take in a Kung Fu episode.  Some of the people who died on August 4 include Hans Christian Andersen (1875), Melvyn Douglas (1981), Victor Mature (1999) and Little Milton (2005).  Today is a birthday for Barack Obama (56) and Billy Bob Thornton (62).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for August 4, Robert Plant and his wife were injured in a car accident during a vacation in Greece in 1975.  In 1980, John Lennon and Yoko Ono entered the New York City recording studio Hit Factory to begin work on the “Double Fantasy” album.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

