Girls Trip

After sitting around using the computer for a while and going out grocery shopping, I took the buses out to Jack London Square.  I had a brief thought of seeing “Atomic Blonde” again, but I went with “Girls Trip.”  I regretted it somewhat, as it was one of those comedies that offends segments of the audience in a tradition going back to “National Lampoon’s Animal House.”  You’ve got four friends named Ryan, Sasha, Lisa, and Dina, played by Regina Hall, Queen Latifah, Jada Pinkett Smith, and Tiffany Haddish, respectively.  Haddish is younger than the other three, who were born in the early 1970s.  I looked at this movie as a variation on “Sex and the City” and “Bridesmaids.”  Ryan is an aspiring Oprah or Kelly Ripa, and her husband is a kind of Michael Strahan.  If I were an actor, I would have refused to appear in this movie.  There were no good roles for me here.  Ryan’s husband is the villain of the story, and the other man who has eyes for her is nauseating.  I can’t believe that the reviewer for RogerEbert.com described this movie as cruelty-free.  It was cruel to men and moviegoers in general.  One of the highlights was supposed to be a scene with urination.  There were moments with grapefruit that went further than the carrot in “Fast Times at Ridgemont High.”  I could understand why these friends had spent so much time apart than why they had this reunion.  If I were in New Orleans and saw these four women, I would avoid them.  A movie like this is a test of character.  I would have questions about anyone who thought this movie was hilarious.  Kate Walsh’s character Elizabeth, Ryan’s agent, was so strange.  The turn in Ryan’s story at the end had me shaking my head.  I find it hard to believe that people with big money are willing to go with anything, acting without much thought.  I can’t imagine too many men being very amused with this movie, but they might want to take a glimpse into this world that they’re not a part of.  The characters are loud, not self-conscious, and cause embarrassing scenes.  Somehow, that reflects a lot of our culture.  Does anyone think that this movie is some kind of a feminist statement?  I don’t see this movie gaining a big following, but I’m not the greatest judge of people’s tastes.  The director was a man, Malcolm D. Lee.  Listening to the radio after I left the theatre, I heard the news about the death of Glen Campbell.  I remember him for “Gentle on My Mind” and “Rhinestone Cowboy,” and the movie “True Grit.”  I don’t remember his television show.  I felt that a bit of my childhood disappeared with his death.  Some of the people who died on August 9 include Hieronymus Bosch (1516), Hermann Hesse (1962), Joe Orton (1967), Dmitri Shostakovich (1975), Jerry Garcia (1995), Gregory Hines (2003), Judith Rossner (2005), Bernie Mac (2008), and Mel Stuart (2012).  Today is a birthday for Amanda Bearse (59), Melanie Griffith (60), and Sam Elliott (73).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

