Detroit

I woke up and watched the chef segment of CBS This Morning.  Some of Greg Vernick’s signature recipes include Mustard roasted bone-in leg of lamb with herbs and spices, Tomato tart, whipped ricotta, basil, Grilled romaine lettuce with stone fruits and buttermilk dressing, and Corn and quinoa salad with blue cheese.  I looked up the American Top 40 playlist for the weekend.  The Top 10 songs on August 14 1976 were “Turn the Beat Around,” “Kiss and Say Goodbye,” “(Shake, Shake, Shake) Shake Your Booty,” “I’d Really Love to See You Tonight,” “Love is Alive,” “Rock and Roll Music,” “You’ll Never Find Another Love Like Mine,” “Let ‘Em In,” “You Should Be Dancing,” and “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart.”  I watched about ten minutes of “Journey with Dylan Dreyer” before I went out to the bus stop.  I discovered that many of the buses were on detour because of a marathon, so I had to go to a temporary bus stop to make a transfer to get to Emeryville.  I thought I might miss the beginning of my movie, but I did get there.  “Detroit” was showing at 11:05.  The movie hasn’t attracted as many people as expected.  It did feel timely and powerful, although a problem with it is that it’s a reconstructed story when the actual story was never clearly determined.  The filming style makes the movie feel realistic, as it is really happening in front of you, like “The Hurt Locker” applied to racism and police brutality.  I’ll have to say that this style gives me headaches with the camera movement and quick editing.  I had to close my eyes a lot through at least half of the movie.  One of the powerful performance was by Will Poulter as a police officer named Krauss.  He was in “The Maze Runner.”  In this movie, he literally looks like a white devil, and his character is so despicable that I would fear for his safety in real life.  I’m almost shuddering in thinking about what will happen to his career.  The interrogation sequence is grueling, and it feels like it came out of a war movie like “The Deer Hunter.”  John Boyega, who is Finn in the Star Wars movies, is a security guard who gets called an Uncle Tom for his efforts to work with the authorities and nearly gets pinned for the murders that happened on this fateful night, which was July 25, 1967.  The members of the singing group The Dramatics ended up involved in the incident.  The suggestion that Motown is white people’s music while gospel is the real thing is arguable.  Some people have seen this movie that thought it was powerful but superficial.  I wouldn’t fault Kathryn Bigelow for this.  You can show that acts of hate and racism, but it’s difficult to show what is inside people through film.  The reviewer for RogerEbert.com gave the movie two stars, one criticism being that the point of view of black women was skipped over.  No movie can be definitive.  The movie had to have some type of focus, otherwise it would be thin and limp.  I have the feeling that people will find this movie more meaningful as the years pass and they see it again.  They will continue to see meaning in it.  One of the police officers was shown as being rather stupid.  I do wonder what the Detroit Police think of this film.  As I was leaving the theatre, I overheard a few people talking about Will Poulter, and how they didn’t think they wanted to ever see him again in a movie.  They couldn’t come up with his name.  I couldn’t, either, as I had to look up his name on IMDB.  “Detroit” felt like a long movie, as it was nearly 2:00 when I left the theatre.  Some of the people who died on August 13 include H.G Wells (1946), Jane Darwell (1967), Mickey Mantle (1995), Julia Child (2004), Les Paul (2009), and Edwin Newman (2010).  Today is a birthday for Danny Bonaduce (58) and Kevin Tighe (73).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

