Brigsby Bear

Returning from the Coliseum and still having some time left on my day off, I strolled over to the theatre and looked over the offerings and decided on “Brigsby Bear,” not knowing what the movie was about.  I was thirsty from the afternoon in the sun, and I craved an Icee, but I was a dollar short, so I just headed for the seats and discovered that I was all alone.  It certainly was an unusual movie, and it had flaws, but overall I liked it.  A 25-year-old named James has been living his entire life with his parents in the desert, and his favorite television show is something called “Brigsby Bear Adventures,” but he comes to live in the outside world with no more episodes, so he has to adjust to new circumstances.  The movie is something of a blend of “Being There,” “10 Cloverfield Lane,” and “Napoleon Dynamite.”  It raises some questions about what is normal behavior and whether creativity is just a way of not growing up.  I was amazed that there was so much Brigsby Bear merchandise throughout the movie.  It was a lot of stuff to produce for a fake television show.  I liked how Mark Hamill was in the cast, bringing with him a trace of Star Wars with him.  Greg Kinnear was a cop who used to perform Shakespeare.  He must be a true actor if he’s willing to appear in a new Brigsby Bear episode.  I kept thinking about how much older Kinnear looked since his days in “Little Miss Sunshine.”  Claire Danes tries to help James adjust to the real world.  James did have some moments in the film that you could compare to “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.”  In one scene, his conversation with a girl was reminiscent of “River’s Edge.”  This movie could become a cult favorite in the years to come.  I thought about whether I could make a meaningful movie if I tried my hand.  This movie made me want to see “Frank” again.  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for August 17, FTD made a record number of floral arrangement deliveries with 3,116 after Elvis Presley’s death.  In 1983, Ira Gershwin died at age 86.  In 1984, the Clint Eastwood movie “Tightrope” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

