Terminator 2: Judgment Day

I worked on my Oscar picks and made a few more decisions about “The Favourite.” I had a forgettable day at work. I stopped for a burger on the way home, as I usually do on Wednesdays, and back at the apartment I watched “Terminator 2” again. Reading about the filming of the movie, I didn’t realize that Linda Hamilton had a twin sister. I could see how having a twin might be helpful in a movie like this. I thought this was Arnold’s finest moment as an actor, and I wished he had never gotten into politics. He had great bits of Terminator dialogue, like “Come with me if you want to live” and “Hasta la vista, baby.” We’ll always remember him for riding off on the motorcycle with “Bad to the Bone” on the soundtrack. One of the good ideas in the movie was having a superior Terminator called the T-1000 be the villain. Robert Patrick will always be the T-1000 and nothing else in my mind, but he did appear in movies like “Wayne’s World,” “Walk the Line,” “Flags of Our Fathers,” and “Jayne Mansfield’s Car.” I wondered how the T-1000 got to John’s foster mother without the father knowing. Patrick is 60 years old now. I wondered what Edward Furlong has done over the years. It seems that he has gone through some personal problems. I actually couldn’t stand his acting in the movie, as he had to talk to himself with lines like “get a grip” and “easy money.” He never came up with a real reason why the T-800 should not kill people. Looking at the movie again and thinking about it some more, it seems that the Terminator should have done something at key moments to eliminate the T-1000. He could have destroyed it in the river or after it had been frozen. I wondered what happened after the Terminator exposed his arm to Dyson. I thought about whether he took his kids to Raging Waters. I thought I saw the police use a security card to get through one set of glass doors before smashing through other glass doors. I wondered where the card came from. It looked like some of the stunts were difficult and dangerous, and one of the wild stunts was the T-1000 driving the motorcycle through the window and climbing into the helicopter. A couple of other motorcycle stunts looked very exciting. One thing that was good about this movie was the spare use of CGI, considering everything that was in the film. How many vehicles were destroyed? I was wondering what happened to Dr. Silberman, leaving injured after he witnessed unbelievable things happening right in front of him. Linda Hamilton was married to James Cameron from 1997 to 1999. She has discussed her depression and her bipolar disorder. She is 62 years old now. I’m not sure that I ever got the timeline of events right in this Terminator movie. 2029 was the year that Skynet sent the T-1000 to the past. 1995 is the present, so as far as viewing the movie in 1991, it is the future. In the world of the movie, more than seven years have passed since the first Terminator, or at least that appears to be the case, because John Connor is clearly more than seven years old. He was born on February 28, 1985. Judgment Day is August 29, 1997. What really happened on that day? All I saw was the Air Guitar championship. I read that Sarah Connor was born between March 1, 1965 and February 25, 1967. In the edition of the movie that I saw, Sarah is alive on August 29, 2029. The people in the park wear what are supposed to be futuristic clothes, but this scene is only ten years away from now. After all the other Terminator movies, I now wish that it all had ended with “Terminator 2.” I don’t think that James Cameron handles death in his films too well. There was “Titanic,” and here we see a thumbs up at the moment of demise, which at the time in the 90s made us think of Detroit Lions player Mike Utley. I feel sadness watching this movie now because I saw it with my friend Kelly, who would die of cancer in 2003. While watching a Supergirl episode recently, I discovered that Alex Danvers’ favorite movie is “Terminator 2.” She also likes the television shows “Homeland,” “Game of Thrones,” and “The Wire.” I liked the special effects and Arnold’s presence, although the casting was not perfect. I heard on the news that Jussie Smollett is now under arrest in Chicago. I guess Smollett is too young to remember the Morton Downey, Jr. incident of 1989, in which Downey claimed that neo-Nazis attacked him at the San Francisco airport. If you try to stage some kind of fake incident and report it to the police, you are not likely to get away with it. If you don’t know history, you’re going to repeat it. Smollett is 36 years old and should know better. Some of the people who died on February 21 include Hieronymus Bock (1554), Jethro Tull (1741), Malcolm X (1965), Margot Fonteyn (1991), Robin Moore (2008), and Billy Graham (2018). Today is a birthday for Ellen Page (32), Kelsey Grammer (64), and Anthony Daniels (73). According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for February 21, the big winners for Best Motion Picture at the 9th Golden Globe Awards in 1952 were “A Place in the Sun” for Drama and “An American in Paris” for Musical or Comedy. In 1968, “Child is Father to the Man,” the debut album by Blood, Sweat, and Tears, was released. In 1971, Sly and the Family Stone had the Number One single, “Thank You.” In 1975, David Bowie released his “Young Americans” single, which featured Luther Vandross. In 1988, the Robin Williams movie “Good Morning Vietnam” was the Number One film at the box office. In 1990, Milli Vanilli won the Grammy for Best New Artist. In 2001, Steely Dan won the Grammy Award for Best Album for “Two Against Nature.” Kelsey Grammer celebrates his 64th birthday today.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment