Dunkirk

I waited for my FedEx package from the A’s to arrive.  When I opened it, it talked to me.  It had an ID and a lanyard and a pin and a letter, and that was it.  I went over to the office and prepared for class.  I gave a short lecture and gave my class a quiz.  I returned home and watched “Dunkirk” again.  I appreciated Christopher Nolan’s decisions for this film to show different perspectives on the event and also to shot on 70 mm film.  It felt like it had similarities with “Saving Private Ryan.”  I wondered how Nolan filmed explosions in which people were killed and also the sinking of a ship.  I had enjoyed seeing “Interstellar,” although I felt that it was too long, so I was glad to see that “Dunkirk” was one hour shorter.  One thing that this movie made me think about was the fear people had of being below deck and drowning.  Two ships sank quickly.  I wondered what happened to the women serving food.  I’m not sure that I wanted to see any stars in this movie, but I didn’t mind seeing Kenneth Branagh and Tom Hardy in this one.  According what I read about Nolan, he showed some of his crew the films that inspired him: “All Quiet on the Western Front,” “The Wages of Fear,” “Alien,” “Speed,” “Unstoppable,” “Greed,” “Sunrise,” “Ryan’s Daughter,” “The Battle of Algiers,” “Chariots of Fire,” and “Foreign Correspondent.”  I’m not too sure why some of these movies are on the list, namely “Ryan’s Daughter.”  Supposedly, Nolan’s favorite films include “Blade Runner,” “Star Wars,” “The Man Who Would Be King,” “Lawrence of Arabia,” “Chinatown,” “2001: A Space Odyssey,” and “Withnail and I.”  That is a reasonable list.  Nolan was born in July 1970.  Nolan’s next movie will be released in 2020.  Some people thought it was going to be a mixture of “North by Northwest” and “Inception.”  Whatever it is, I’m looking forward to seeing it.  Nolan is one of those directors whose films you have to see.  I didn’t feel that way about “Memento.”  I think it was “Inception” that made up my mind.  I stayed up to see the first part of the Stephen Colbert show.  He talked with Gayle King about her interview with R. Kelly.  Has he brainwashed those two girlfriends of his?  They do seem unusual.  Some of the people who died on March 8 include Hector Berlioz (1869), Millard Fillmore (1874), William Howard Taft (1930), Sherwood Anderson (1941), Harold Lloyd (1971), George Stevens (1975), William Walton (1983), Billy Eckstine (1993), Peggy Cass (1999), and Joe DiMaggio (1999).  Today is a birthday for Lester Holt (60), Aidan Quinn (60), and Micky Dolenz (74).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for March 8, Bob Dylan recorded the song “Just Like a Woman” for his “Blonde on Blonde” album in 1966.  In 1978, “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” debuted on BBC Radio.  In 1985, the Peter Bogdanovich movie “Mask” was released.  In 1996, the Coen Brothers film “Fargo” was released.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment