Paddington

On a recent morning I watched “Paddington” again.  The bits where the bear misinterpreted the signs at the station were funny.  Paddington reminds me of those warnings about how animals seem adorable when they’re little, but they are dangerous when they grow up.  What I thought about most while watching this movie was not the CGI effects used to depict the bear, but Nicole Kidman’s face.  I wondered when she had a face lift.  It was a shame that she had to play a villain.  Hugh Bonneville of Downton Abbey was the father, Henry Brown.  I don’t know what made Colin Firth’s voice not fit the character of Paddington.  I thought that I’d like to hear the results and decide for myself what to think.  Paul King, the director, went on to make “Paddington 2” and “Wonka.”  Some people think that “Paddington” is one of the best British films ever.  I don’t give it a rating as high as that, but I enjoy watching it on a weekday morning, generally.  Some of the people who died on May 5 include Napoleon Bonaparte (1821), Bret Harte (1902), Frank Tashlin (1972), George Sidney (2002), Dana Wynter (2011), Mike Hagerty (2022), and Amy Silverstein (2023).  Today is a birthday for Adele (36), George Rhys- Davies (80), and Michael Murphy (86).  According to the Brandon Brooks Rewind radio segment for May 5, “Union Pacific,” directed by Cecil B. DeMille and starring Barbara Stanwyck and Joel McCrea, was released in 1939.  In 1980, “America’s Top 10,” hosted by Casey Kasem, made its debut.  In 1995, “French Kiss,” starring Meg Ryan and Kevin Kline, was released.  In 2000, Angelina Jolie and Billy Bob Thornton were married in Las Vegas.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment