T2 Trainspotting

I woke up a bit later than usual and missed forty-five minutes of the CBS Sunday Morning show.  I missed the segment on Wonder Woman but did catch the segments on phone booths and Danny DeVito.  My parents phoned me and talked about the rain and income taxes.  I shopped at Trader Joe’s and returned home to watch the first hour of “Ishtar.”  I didn’t know that Martin Scorsese was a fan of the movie.  Isabelle Adjani was not so appealing.  I walked to the theatre to see “T2 Trainspotting.”  I barely remembered seeing the original movie.  I thought Ewan McGregor was better in this film than he was in the Star Wars films.  The guy who was Spud reminded me of a guy who used to work in one of the local record stores back in the 1980s.  I thought he was also like one of the Road Warrior characters.  One of the funny scenes had Mark and Sick Boy singing in front of a crowd of people.  They had a way of getting their hands on a lot of cash.  Begbie was a scary character.  He reminded me of George Kennedy in “Thunderbolt and Lightfoot.”  Apparently, one of the character had a huge DVD collection.  Was it Sick Boy?  The movie did remind me of what a good record Blondie’s “Dreaming” was compared with the crappy records that came out in 1979.  The Clash was an important band during those years, too.  It seemed like “(White Man) In Hammersmith Palais” was an anthem.  I could not believe all those people singing along to Queen’s “Radio Ga Ga.”  I’m not sure if I would have appreciated this film more if I had gone back and seen the original again.  I thought this movie was a cut above the crappy pictures I see a lot of.  Danny Boyle is older than I am, so I can look at his accomplishments without feeling too bad about myself.  Since the first Trainspotting, he has directed “Millions,” “Slumdog Millionaire,” “127 Hours,” and “Steve Jobs.”  I think he has been a good director.  Some of the people who died on March 28 include Virginia Woolf (1941), Sergei Rachmaninov (1943), Jim Thorpe (1953), Dwight D. Eisenhower (1969), Emmett Kelly (1979), Marc Chagall (1985), Eugene Ionesco (1994), Art James (2004), Peter Ustinov (2004), and Earl Scruggs (2012).  Today is a birthday for Nick Frost (45), Vince Vaughn (47), and Reba McEntire (62).

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment